Call for Candidatures! The International Contextual Architecture Award in Memory of Turgut Cansever

Call for Candidatures! The International Contextual Architecture Award in Memory of Turgut Cansever



in memory of Turgut Cansever


Antalya Kepez Municipality, in cooperation with the Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey, has organised the „The International Contextual Architecture Awards in memory of Architect Turgut Cansever“.

Endorsed by the International Union of Architects (UIA), these Awards seek proposals that exhibit original interpretations of Turkish Architect Turgut Cansever’s design principles. These principles include adapting design to regional characteristics, thereby promoting cultural continuity, regional values and distinctive local attributes. The award seeks to highlight the importance of local identity in a globalised world.

Known for his contextual approach to architecture and urban planning prioritizing regional expression, context-specific design and architectural quality, Turgut Cansever (1921-2009) is the only architect ever to win the Aga Khan Award for Architecture three times.

The Awards are divided into three parts:

  • The Turgut Cansever Grand Prix, which recognizes an architect whose lifelong commitment to a contextual approach to the contemporary built environment prioritizes local and regional identity as well as environmental sensibilities.
  • The Turgut Cansever International Award, attributed to an architectural project by an architect or architectural firm from any country in the world. The project should embody the values Turget Cansever emphasized in his own work.
  • The Turgut Cansever Local Award recognizing an architectural project and its author realised in the province of Antalya, Turkey.

Anadolu kulübü (Anatolia Club) by Turgut Cansever


The international jury consisting of Ian Ritchie (UK), Antonio Riverso (Italy), Süha Özkan (Turkey), C. Abdi Güzer (Turkey) and UIA Representative Martin Drahovsky (Slovakia) will meet in Antalya on 10 February 2020 to evaluate the entries.


The winner of the Grand Prix will be awarded 25 000 TRY (approximately 3 900 Euros); the International Award winner will receive 20 000 TRY (approximately 3 150 Euros) and the Local Award winner will be awarded 15 000 TRY (approximately 2 360 Euros).


Architects can both apply with their own projects or nominate the projects of other architects. Clients and professional organisations may also nominate projects and architects as candidates for the award.


20 January 2020: Deadline for entries

10 February 2020: Jury meeting
22 February 2020: Award ceremony and opening of exhibition
Results of the competition will be announced by the Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey at least 10 days before the award ceremony.

The award ceremony will be held during the week of February 22, the anniversary of Turgut Cansever’s death.

For further information about the nomination procedure, contact the organisers.

The International Union of Architects (UIA) is an international non-governmental organisation based in Paris. Established in 1948, it is the only organisation representing architects across the globe working to unify architects, influence public policies on construction and development, and advance architecture in service to the needs of society.


E-mail :
Website :

Sign up for our newsletter